Jazz Musicians Perform at the Clark College Jazz Festival

Posted: February 2, 2018

The 56th annual Clark College Jazz Festival wrapped up Sunday, with multiple Clark County student musicians walking away with accolades after the three-day event.

Chief Umtuch Middle School’s advanced jazz band won third place honors in the middle school Silver Division ensemble finals, along with a Blue Division Judge’s Award.

Outstanding Middle School Jazz Musician certificates were awarded to Parker Bruning and Adam Haunreiter of Hockinson Middle School; Connor Cuff, Deitrich Vu, Tai Beaulieu and Mireia Pujol of Liberty Middle School; Isaac Moroshan of Laurin Middle School; Shelby McCombs of Pleasant Valley Middle School; Dominic Mendoza of Chief Umtuch Middle School; Reagan Speakman of Skyridge Middle School; and Grady McHenry of Tukes Valley Middle School.

Woodland High School earned third place in the 1A classification for high school jazz ensembles, and Hockinson High School won first place in the 2A category.

Isaac Hall of the Woodland School District won an outstanding high school musician awards in the 1A school category.

Local 2A division outstanding high school musician award-winners included Grant Hobbs of Columbia River High School; Kaelyn White of Battle Ground High School; Emily Johnson of Washougal High School; and Jack Broer, Riley Lyons, Erik Hawkins and Zeke Dodson of Hockinson High School.

Prairie High School came in second place in the 3A division for high school jazz ensembles, as did Battle Ground High School in the 4A division.

Individual outstanding high school musician awards for the 3A Division were presented to Ashton Hemming and Dominic Mendoza of Battle Ground High School; Tony Brence and Ericka Mecham of Prairie High School; Josh DeQuiroz of Mountain View High School; and Chris Ramirez of the Vancouver School of Arts and Academics.

Individual outstanding musician awards in the 4A division went to Justin Foley and Amy Boedigheimer of Heritage High School; Chase Williams, Sean Grimm and Gary Hobbs of Union High School; Gabe Bradley of Mountain View High School; and Laney Pham and Shane Walz of Battle Ground High School.