Mill Town Pride

Posted: June 14, 2017

Superintendent Jeff Snell recognized several individuals and organizations with the “Mill Town Pride” award at the Monday, June 12, school board meeting. The award, established in 2016, celebrates those who embody the Camas School District values of hard work and dedication, persistence and achievement, and contribution and community, as well as its mission to extend the tradition of quality, caring, and growth. The recipients were:

Papermakers Track

  • Scholar–Athlete Maddie Peffers – High Jump (5-6)
  • Scholar–Athlete Daniel Maton – 800 (1:53.46) & 1600 (4:11.24)
  • Coaches Alisa Wise & Karen Goritski


  • Shaye Parnell – Helen Baller Elementary student


DECA is an international association of high school and college students and teachers of marketing, management, and entrepreneurship in business, finance, hospitality, and marketing sales and service.

  • Automotive Services Role-Play, 1st Place – Elizabeth Schwarzkopf
  • Restaurant Food Service Management, 1st Place – Ashley Miles
  • Creative Marketing Project, 2nd Place – Kevin Chen, Cami Kirby & Kendra Horvath
  • Business Research Project, Top Ten – Skylar Becerra, Xiansheng Yan
  • Restaurant Food Service Management, Role-Play Medalist – Josh McPhun

DECA International Career Development Conference Qualifiers

  • Finance Research Written Project – Mackenzie Spady & Hayden Hunsaker, Colton Lessard & Jordan Slotto
  • Business Research Written Project – Tanner Fogle & Haruki Takada, Erik & Kelly Johnson
  • Hospitality & Tourism Research Written Project – Monica Chang, Jack Kelly
  • Financial Literacy Chapter Project – Dareena Stepanyuk, Bella Swanson & Wes Colvin
  • Entrepreneurship Promotion Chapter Project – Sophie Eagle & Ben Cook
  • Principles of Marketing – Nathan Loucks & Will Schultz

American Association of University Women in Clark County

  • Hayes Freedom High School – Alyssa Jackson: Mathematics, Maddy Lang: Technology
  • Camas High School – Amanda Sturges: Mathematics, Hailey Vail: Technology

Washington State Regional Science Fair Championship

  • Biomedical & Health Sciences Division, 1st Place – Tsering Shola

Science Olympiad

  • Bella Alexander: Towers, & Write It Do It
  • Kathy Chen: Astronomy, Chem Lab, Experimental Design, & Forensics
  • Daniel Fan: Hydrogeology, Robot Arm, & Wind Power
  • Wilson Ho: Experimental Design, Forensics, Microbe Mission & Towers
  • Melody Hollar: Dynamic Planet, Ecology, & Invasive Species
  • Abigail Jiang: Helicopters, Hovercraft, & Materials Science
  • Yeh Seo Jung: Ecology, Hydrogeology, & Remote Sensing
  • Maia Kawamura: Dynamic Planet, & Remote Sensing
  • Jason Kim: Astronomy, Optics, Rocks & Minerals
  • Junha Lee: Wright Stuff Capacitor
  • Jason Liu: Indoor Bottle Rockets
  • Brody Lukens: Electric Vehicle, Robot Arm, Rocks & Minerals
  • Rahul Ram: Anatomy & Physiology, Disease Detectives, & Game On
  • Chemay Shola: Electric Vehicle, Microbe Mission & Wind Power
  • Calvin Taylor: Anatomy & Physiology, Hovercraft, Invasive Species, & Optics
  • Ashley Teng: Game On, Helicopters, & Write It Do It
  • Noah Thompson: Chem Lab, Disease Detectives, & Materials Science
  • Victor Wu: Wright Stuff Capacitor
  • Christopher Xia: Indoor Bottle Rockets
  • Coaches: Matthew Chase, Bo Liebe, Shankar Shaki, Monica Belcher, Viji Ram, Kimberly Randolf, Parker Liebe, Kurtis Shibata